I love Taco Burrito King.

Taco Burrito King is a small, local Mexican food chain. They don’t have Taco Burrito King in Montana, New Jersey, Alabama, Oregon, Russia, Taiwan, Brazil, Qatar, or anywhere besides the Chicago metropolitan area. Why are they so special, though? There are perhaps ninety bazillion Mexican restaurants in this part of Illinois.

Niles TBK photo taken by Jasmine Sassack for patch.com.

Foremost among the reasons I love them is the fact that they are vegetarian-friendly, but they still maintain a certain level of authenticity. Most Mexican restaurants that serve sopes or hand-made tortillas also put lard into everything or are likely to put chicharrones on something but not list it as an ingredient on the menu. I don’t need (or want!) lengua tacos, bowl of menudo, “my abuela is in the back with a molcajete” authenticity. I just want good vegetarian Mexican food that’s more Mexican than Chipotle.

But wait! It gets better! TBK has two locations that are open 24 hours a day. Before TBK, I had to go to Taco Bell if I wanted a burrito at 2 AM. That means I didn’t eat burritos at 2 AM, becauseI do not go to Taco Bell. Neither should you.

index

If your taco requires anti-caking agent, something is wrong.

I am still not done. The chain also takes measures to decrease its impact on the environment. For example, they use permeable pavers in one of their parking lots, offer customers recycled paper napkins, and have two locations with solar thermal heating.

Oh, did I mention they are a family owned and (to an extent) operated business? They are! Did I mention monthly and daily specials? They have them! I don’t just mean fish tacos for lent. Please! That’s for trifling bitches. During Lent, they had fish tacos and chiles rellenos! Yes, fast food chiles rellenos!

I took this photo to commemorate the delicious chiles rellenos that I ate.

I took this photo to commemorate the delicious chiles rellenos that I ate.

Lest I forget, yes, the food is DELICIOUS…and they cater.

Leave a Reply

